Pera and Jaffna Stamp Their Dominance by Their Clinical and Unbeaten Performances in Preliminary Rounds

Pera and Jaffna Stamp Their Dominance by Their Clinical and Unbeaten Performances in Preliminary Rounds

The ceaseless days have arrived. The breathless minds are filled with courage, endurance, and dedication for the glory of the victory. University of Colombo became the champions during the last Inter University Games by beating the University of Moratuwa in the finals. Now the thrilling cricket fever has been aroused and is spreading in the university sports arena heating the souls of the cricket lovers. It began with the preliminary round matches that took place during the last two weeks under four groups.

During the first match between University of Kelaniya and Eastern University, Eastern University won the toss and elected to bat first. University of Kelaniya was able to achieve the victory by beating Eastern University by seven wickets. Wayamba University won the match by beating Agni in their first match. University of Sri Jayawardenepura defeated Sabaragamuwa University by 308 runs. Match between University of Ruhuna and University of Jaffna was hosted by the University of Ruhuna. Heavy rainfall became the greatest obstacle to the match. However, after the rainfall it continued and University of Jaffna emerged as winners with four wickets. During the match between University of Peradeniya and Visual Performing Arts, Pera bowlers did a brilliant job in the bowling department by limiting the VPA innings to just 34 overs. Pera won the match by 08 wickets. Rajarata recorded a close victory against University of Uva by 13 runs in the preliminary rounds.

The preliminary round matches continued this weekend with tremendous victories to Pera and Jaffna. Pera was able to continue their victory run against Ruhuna at UOR grounds by 04 wickets. Aravinda Deshabhakthi the captain of Pera scored run a ball 83 runs and took 3 wickets for 19 runs. They have sealed an unbeaten victory during the preliminary rounds. University of Kelaniya won the match by 04 wickets against Sabaragamuva University. University of Jaffna won the match by 285 runs beating VPA. Hogan’s scintillating 115 score in 65 balls lifted Jaffna towards the victory. University of Colombo, 2018 Cricket Interuni champions became victorious by 90 runs against UVA in the last match.

The first preliminary match of University of Moratuwa was held in South Eastern University. Agni elected to bat first and scored 226 runs in 7 wickets. A.L.M Ahamed of Agni scored a calm and composed century to give Agni a fighting total. Unfortunately, Mora were all out for 196 runs thereby losing the match by 30 runs.

At the end of the preliminary rounds Pera and Jaffna have sent down strong messages to other teams by their thoroughly dominant and unbeaten performances in the preliminary rounds. From what we have witnessed in preliminary rounds, we can be assured that some cracking matches are around the corner. So stay tuned with MoraSpirit for more updates.