Sabare and Pera dominate the Hockey arena and make their marks as the new champions

Sabare and Pera dominate the Hockey arena and make their marks as the new champions

It was the dawn of a much-awaited day. Sun heated the grounds with its Strong rays. The minds and hearts were blended with the team spirit and the hopes of victory. With the message that has been given through the quarter-finals by the powerful men’s and women’s teams, semi-finals of SLUG 2019 hockey championship began in the morning session. Colombo Ruhuna Pera and Rajarata were ready with the sticks to clash with their respective opponents in the semi-finals of men’s hockey while Colombo, Sabare, Japura, and Jaffna were the proud competitors in the women’s semi-finals.

In the morning session, Colombo beat Ruhuna by 2-1 in men’s division and reserved their place in the grand finale. Colombo had the upper hand from the very beginning of the match. The first goal was recorded in the first four minutes and the penalty in the thirtieth minute, helped them to solidify and secure their victory. Pera won over Rajarata by 2-0 and got selected for the final. In the women’s semi-finals, Sabare was able to keep their unbeaten record even against a powerful opposition like Colombo. In the beginning, Colombo showed to be in a winning momentum, but after the half time, Sabare emerged with winning moves and tactics and played brilliantly till the end. The other match was held between Japura and Jaffna. Japura was able to bring down Jaffna quite comfortably in the end with a score of 03-00. Thus, by the end of the women’s division semi-finals, Sabare and Japura was selected for the finals

Rajarata and Ruhuna met for the Men’s consolation final at the same venue. Rajarata was able to beat Ruhuna and grab the second runners up as a consolation. Colombo and Jaffna were the opponents for the women’s consolation finals. Colombo started scoring from the beginning of the match and won the match with a score of 04-00, becoming the second runners up in the women’s hockey event.

The most awaited event of the day, final matches were at the end. For the women’s championship, Sabare and Japura battled against each other. Both teams showed great competitiveness and will throughout the match so it was a thrilling sight to see. K G. S. Guruge of Sabare team scored two goals for the team during the second half of the match. Japura, though they performed in previous matches brilliantly, could only get one goal. In the end, Sabare was able to become the champions with an unbeaten record.

The men’s hockey final was held between Colombo and Pera teams. After a crucial battle, Pera was able to seize its power in the ground, beating Colombo by a score of 01-00, becoming champions.

Thus, the grand hockey event of the university sports arena, SLUG 2019 Hockey Championship marked its ending, making Pera and Sabare as the supreme victors of the tournament. We would like to thank the winners on behalf of MoraSpirit and wish them Goodluck for the upcoming tournaments. Please stay tuned with us to get the latest news and updates from SLUG 2019 sports arena