The spectators’ stands of the gymnasium of University of Ruhuna erupted with applause and ecstatic shouts when University of Moratuwa made history last Saturday by seizing the dual championship in Table Tennis for the second consecutive year. Their win secured the overall third place for University of Moratuwa at the 13th Sri Lanka University Games as well.

September 6th and 7th were a very heated couple of days as 14 teams from 14 universities fought head to head against each other for a single trophy. By the end of the first day four teams from both Men’s and Women’s categories were selected for the semifinals. The semifinals were played as follows.


·        University of Moratuwa Vs. University of Colombo

·        University of Sri Jayewardenepura Vs. Sabaragamuwa University of Sri Lanka


·        University of Moratuwa Vs. Waymba University of Sri Lanka

·        University of Peradeniya Vs. University of Kelaniya

University of Moratuwa and University of Sri Jayewardenepura emerged as winners at the women’s category while Men’s team of University of Moratuwa and the men’s team of University of Peradeniya were chosen for the finals of the men’s category.

The finals were an intense affair while the best teams from both categories fought vehemently for the trophy. Men’s team of University of Moratuwa won the championship easily and gracefully by beating University of Peradeniya 3-0. In fact the defending champions emerged winners for the second consecutive time without losing a single match for the entire tournament.

In contrast the Women’s finals were so intense and heated, the spectators were at the edge of their seats while the two teams fought with all their might for the trophy. But then the last shot was delivered by the doubles’ pair Nuwani Vithanage and Yogya Gamage of University of Moratuwa making them the Champions for the third consecutive time while marking the end of the Sri Lanka University Games 2019 and proving once again that hard work and dedication always pays off.

The consolation finals of the Women’s category were won by University of Colombo while University of Kelaniya won the Men’s category. The final results are as follows.

·        Women’s Category

1.     University of Moratuwa

2.     University of Sri Jayewardenepura

3.     University of Colombo


·        Men’s Category

1.     University of Moratuwa

2.     University of Peradeniya

3.     University of Kelaniya

We at Moraspirit extend our heartfelt congratulations to all the winners for their prestigious achievements and wish them all the very best for their future endeavors. 

Wriiten by :- Amanda Gamage

Want to keep in touch with ongoing university sports news?
to our email newsletter now.